The Revised European American Lymphoma Classification (REAL)

I. Precursor B-cell neoplasm:

  • Precursor B-lymphoblastic leukemia/lymphoma

II. Mature (peripheral) B-cell neoplasms

  • B-cell chronic lymphocytic leukemia / small lymphocytic lymphoma
  • B-cell prolymphocytic leukemia
  • Lymphoplasmacytic lymphoma
  • Splenic marginal zone B-cell lymphoma (+/- villous lymphocytes)
  • Hairy cell leuekmia
  • Plasma cell myeloma/plasmacytoma
  • Extranodal marginal zone B-cell lymphoma of mucosa-associated lymphoid tissue type
  • Nodal marginal zone lymphoma (+/- monocytoid B-cells)
  • Follicle center lymphoma, follicular,
  • Mantle cell lymphoma
  • Diffuse large cell B-cell lymphoma
    • Mediastinal large B-cell lymphoma
    • Primary effusion lymphoma
  • Burkitt's lymphoma/Burkitt's cell leukemia

T-Cell and Natural Killer Cell Neoplasms

I. Precursor T cell neoplasm:

  • Precursor T-lymphoblastic lymphoma/leukemia

II. Mature (peripheral) T cell and NK-cell neoplasms

  • T cell prolymphocytic leukemia
  • T-cell granular lymphocytic leukemia
  • Aggressive NK-Cell leukemia
  • Adult T cell lymphoma/leukemia (HTLV1+)
  • Extranodal NK/T-cell lymphoma, nasal type
  • Enteropathy-type T-cell lymphoma
  • Hepatosplenic gamma-delta T-cell lymphoma
  • Subcutaneous panniculitis-like T-cell lymphoma
  • Mycosis fungoides/Sézary's syndrome
  • Anaplastic large cell lymphoma, T/null cell, primary cutaneous type
  • Peripheral T cell lymphoma, not otherwise characterized
  • Angioimmunoblastic T cell lymphoma
  • Anaplastic large cell lymphoma, T/null cell, primary systemic type

Hodgkin lymphoma (Hodgkin Lymphoma)

  • Nodular lymphocyte predominance Hodgkin lymphoma
  • Classical Hodgkin lymphoma
    • Nodular sclerosis Hodgkin lymphoma
    • Lymphocyte-rich classical Hodgkin lymphoma
    • Mixed cellularity Hodgkin lymphoma
    • Lymphocyte depletion Hodgkin lymphoma

In addition, multiple subcategories are offered for several of these diseases.