Review: Introduction to the Reproductive System

Here is what we have learned from Introduction to the Reproductive System:

  • The four functions of the reproductive system are:
    • To produce egg and sperm cells
    • To transport and sustain these cells
    • To nurture the developing fetus
    • To produce hormones
  • The primary reproductive organs are the gonads, which produce the gametes and hormones. The secondary, or accessory, structures transport and sustain the gametes and nurture the developing offspring.
  • The male reproductive system consists of the testes, duct system, accessory glands, and penis.
  • The male gonads are the testes. Their location within the scrotum is necessary for the production of viable sperm.
  • The female reproductive system includes the ovaries, uterine tubes, uterus, vagina, accessory glands, and external genital organs.
  • The female gonads are the ovaries, which are located on each side of the uterus in the pelvic cavity.
  • Estrogen and progesterone stimulate the development of glandular tissue and ducts in the breast. Prolactin stimulates the production of milk, and oxytocin causes the ejection of milk.